- Club Championships for mixed Foursomes completed.
- Wotton Trophy for Mixed Foursomes completed.
- Recent results
- Computer Issues
- Rules Quiz
- A little Humour
Club Championships, Mixed Foursomes.
A cold and windy day with windchill temperatures nearing zero greeted the field for the final round of this year's Championships. The going was extremely tough, and the comment "thank goodness that's over" was repeated by each group as they left the 18th green. With rounds of 86 and 91 for a combined total of 177, Michelle Di Natale and Sam Mulholland successfully defended their 2018 crown. The pairing of Chris Hill and Jim Phillips 7 shots adrift were runners-up and, Maggie and Ian McKenzie, 3 shots further back in 3rd place. Congratulations to all the competitors.
This event, held in conjunction with the Club Championships, was well contested. With consecutive rounds of 72 net for a total of 144, the McKenzie team were untouchable. Not their first time collecting this award. Congratulations to Maggie and Ian. Second by 3 strokes were Christine and Gil Levy (who also returned the best net score , 71 on the final day) with Sonya Bleakley surviving her pairing with Ash Southon taking out third.
Some amusing stories re-told included a pairing who played a wrong ball (and subsequently lost it!) to a pairing who nearly wore out the surface of the 16th green trying to hole their ball.
- Wednesday 22nd May. 3 Person Aggregate Stableford. The team of Tony Dick (29), Robert Eriksson (21) and John Jones (15) blew the field away with a score of 106 points. Ten shots back in second were the team of Ash Southon (15), Russell Bourne (24) and Chris Harvey (26) with 96. 58 players contested the event. Piero Dal Bianco took out the NTP 11th, and Phil Jeffery the pro-pin.
- Saturday 25th May, and a straight up Stableford competition. 71 players in the field with visitors from Royal Sydney, McArthur Grange and Worrigee. Brendan Maguire (14) winning the event by 2 strokes from Harry Caust (18) on a count back from Martin Flaxman (23). Martin also winning the NTP 11th, with Chris Kunz the pro-pin winner. DSR right on the course par at 69.
Hopefully the issues we have been experiencing are now behind us. However, it is important for everyone to ensure that any bookings already made for a time in the future are checked. Some bookings were lost in the data migration process.
Last week's question related to the correct process and penalties appropriate to cover a situation where you accidentally caused your ball to move by removing some loose impediments. The question related to a match play scenario.
The required procedure is to return the ball to its original position. You are penalised one stroke for causing the ball to move. If you do not replace the ball, and instead play it from its new position, in match play you have just lost the hole (2 stroke penalty in addition to the one stroke, if playing a stroke event). There were no winners of the quiz at the Saturday presentation this week.
This week's question.
In the process of looking for your ball, you find another ball (which is the same brand of ball you are already playing). You locate your correct ball and pocket the ball you found. You complete the hole with a score of 5, but, on removing your ball from the hole you realise that the ball you putted was not the ball you started the hole with, but was in fact the ball you found along the way. You made 1 putt after reaching the green. What is your correct score for that hole now?
Two friends were playing golf one day. They decided that they would adhere strictly to the rules with no improving their lie.
After a few holes, one guy's ball landed on a cart path. As he reached down to pick up his ball to get relief, his friend said, "We agreed that we would not improve our lie."
No matter how much the first fellow tried to explain that he was entitled to this relief, the second fellow would not allow it. So the man went to the cart to get a club.
As he stood over the ball he took a few practice swings, each time scraping the club on the pavement, taking out big chunks of blacktop and sending out lots of sparks!
Finally, after several practice swings he took his shot. The ball took off and landed on the green about 2 metres from the pin.
"Great shot!" his friend exclaimed. "What club did you use?"
"YOUR 7-iron!" he replied!
Now go borrow a friend's clubs if you need, but get out there and enjoy a round on our beautiful course.